Client Testimonials

I had issues with weight and dry skin and restlessness.  I was very frustrated with the inability to lose weight.  After one month of visiting with Dr. Jenn I have lost 14 pounds and am sleeping better.  Another benefit is my skin is softer and more supple.  I am so glad I chose to make the changes through the Nutrition Response Testing with Dr. Jenn’s help and all of Lakeland’s staff.  Thank you very much.

– JK

I suffer from allergies, food and seasonal.  I also do not have a gall bladder.  Dr. Jenn recommended Cholacol and as soon as I started taking it I saw immediate results.

-SS

My hair was falling out.  Since beginning my supplements, my hair is thicker again and my eyelashes are too!  I have lost 6 lbs. (a lot for my small frame) just by food charting and making connections.

-JS

Since I started my Nutrition Response Testing program, the biggest change I have noticed is that I am calmer overall.  I am not irritable and I can handle stressful situations more calmly.  It has been a welcome improvement in my overall health!

-SH

Throughout the winter holidays, I am usually sick, prone to colds, sore throats and sinus infections; pretty much whatever is around.  Since starting my program, and paying attention to the foods that give me trouble, I have been able to fight off infections so much better.  People around me have been sick, but my immune system is working so much better than it used to.  I am so happy to be healthier now!

-JL

Since beginning my Nutrition Response Testing program, my digestion has been much better.  My weight loss has been fantastic and this has made me so much more aware of what I am eating.  I am eating a much healthier diet overall and I feel much better!

-MK

I have psoriasis on my leg and it is much better than before I began my supplements.  The inflammation has gone down.  I noticed that when I traveled recently, I was better able to handle the stress of international travel and my sleep has really improved as well.

-JG

When I did my Nutrition Response Testing, my results showed that I was sensitive to pasteurized milk and wheat.  When I cut those out of my diet, I noticed that I no longer had any heartburn or acid reflux.  I’m also not as bloated and my clothes fit much better than before.  Another huge benefit is that I am sleeping better too.  I’m very glad that I began this program and have made the connection between foods and my health.

-PS

I have been on a nutritional program for 3 weeks and it’s like a “fog has been lifted”!  I have mental clarity for the first time in a long time!

-CK

Since beginning my nutrition program, the swelling in my ankle has gone way down and I’ve lost weight in my stomach area since really cutting dairy from my diet.

-NP

I have a traumatic brain injury and because of it there are times when my memory and recall are not very good.  I have noticed that since starting my nutrition program with Dr. Jenn, both areas have improved and I am able to recall things more quickly and remember things that I previously may not have remembered as quickly.

-MR

After reading over the literature about the program I was convinced that it had scientific reasons to work so I signed up for it.  I was very much lacking in motivation and used to feeling despondent when I began the testing.  But even now, after less than 2 months, I am already feeling better, getting industrious ideas and anxious to continue on.  It is a very thorough program which helps you pin-point the foods you are eating that are harming your body.  The doctors test food supplements that will benefit you.  I like knowing that what I am taking is actually benefiting my body.  I feel that I was just guessing all the time with vitamins and wasting so much money on them.  Now, I only take what my body is showing I need.  I like that these doctors aim to get you on as few supplements as possible as quickly as possible.

-DML

Before I came in to see Dr. Jenn, overall I was feeling poorly.  I felt sluggish and wasn’t sleeping well.  Since beginning my program, now I’m starting to dream when I sleep and look forward to sleeping because I feel better when I wake than when I went to sleep.  My joint pain lessened and I am able to walk longer with less pain.  I feel cleaner than before; lighter and my sugar cravings are less due to the whole food intake.

-JT

I used to use my asthma inhaler twice a day and my rescue inhaler once a month.  Since beginning my nutrition program, I haven’t had to use my asthma inhaler for two weeks and I’ve only had to use my rescue inhaler once.

-PS

In July of 2010, I was put on Prevacid because of severe stomach pain; most likely an ulcer, my doctor told me.  I used far too many over the counter meds like Advil and Tylenol for almost daily headaches and aches/pains.  My diet was a wreck and I couldn’t eat most food or spices without serious pain that would put me in bed.  My digestion was completely off with several bouts of diarrhea a week.  My weight is also a compounding issue.  Even after being on Prevacid for 2 weeks longer than normally recommended, I still had pain 80% of the time.  I continued with my NRT program and supplements from Dr. Jenn and within a month, my pain has disappeared and my stomach and intestines are healing!  I also haven’t had a daily headache nor taken an Advil in over 2 months.  I cut out sugar and several foods that I was testing sensitive to and this has helped alleviate my pain.  I’ve also lost 24 pounds in these 2 months.  Life is good again!

-JB

I was a sugarholic!! I was going from one sugary drink or treat to another.  I was on an energy roller coaster, riding the ups and downs.  My attitude and patience with my kids was short and what my kids would call “Mean Daddy”.  Now, with Nutrition Response Testing and my program, I have no trouble avoiding sugar.   Well, almost no trouble, but I have the strength to avoid sugar throughout the day.  Along with this, nor more ups and downs of energy and emotion.  A definite change in how I handle those little disagreements with my kids.  I seem to have much clearer thoughts!  As a side effect of the avoidance of sugar, I lost about 5 lbs. from my stomach!  Sweet!

-MF

*Testimonial via Dr. Jenn:

Grandpa has always been a jovial, fun-loving man who looks for the best qualities in you.  He loves to strike up a conversation with anyone, and is truly interested in what you have to say.  He’s had a few bumps in the road regarding his health over the years, but overall he’s done well.  However, in November 2006, his routine blood test came back showing a high number of white blood cells (WBC).  His doctor later diagnosed him with Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia.    After his diagnosis, Grandpa found out a good friend of his was also diagnosed with CLL.  His good friend has unfortunately passed away since.  Grandpa began taking Standard Process supplements (a specific protocol for patients with CLL) after his diagnosis.  Just over 1 ½ years later, after many blood tests confirming his original diagnosis, Grandpa’s routine test came back stating his WBCs were within normal limits!  Many tests since then have confirmed this now normal finding.  The results of specific, whole food nutrition are nothing less than AMAZING!

*Please see attached lab work

 

 What patients are saying…..

I came in to the nutrition clinic, I was constipated and bloated.  I would only move my bowels twice a week.  After one week in the program, I noticed that I was moving my bowels daily and felt much better overall.

-IP

I had a lot of knee pain and needed to take Tylenol quite often during the day and before bed.  Since being on this program, I only need to take Tylenol for pain every once in awhile; once a week or every 2 weeks.

-JJ

Before beginning my program, I had lots of heartburn.  I was also having anxiety attacks while driving.  Now, I’m mostly fine; I was able to drive in an unfamiliar area (out of state) while on vacation without anxiety.  My heartburn has also diminished in frequency and duration since now that I’m following my program.

-AK

Before I came in to see you, I was very forgetful to the point of concern.  I also had a lot of hot flashes, and menopause symptoms. (My Dr. told me that I was in menopause.)  Now, with my nutrition program, there is a noticeable difference with my memory; I am more focused.  I have no more hot flashes and have had a period again (hadn’t had one in over a year).  My hair is also really soft!

-KL

Before I started the program, I felt emotionally and physically drained.  I ate dinner and no breakfast or lunch; maybe a quick banana or I reached for junk food.  Vegetables were something I would not even think of.   I had terrible night sweats and was not sleeping through the night.  Now, I am having very few night sweats, and physically and emotionally I am handling things much better.  I am now eating more food and they are all good foods!  I reach for almonds or fruit instead of junk now.  I just don’t buy it but if I have a weak moment and eat the junk I now see how it affects me.  I love stir fry with all the fresh veggies. I feel like doing more and more.

-CL

My hair was falling out, I had headaches 2-3 times a week and I was carrying extra weight around my waist.  Now that I’m following a nutrition program, I have lost the weight, I have very few headaches and my hair is staying in my head!

-JF

I felt like my brain was fuzzy, foggy and cloudy.  My everyday thinking was not clear. My thoughts are much clearer now.   I also felt bloated and had a lot of inflammation in my stomach area as well as my hands and sometimes feet.  I was also fatigued a lot.  After my 6th visit, the bloating and inflammation were not noticeable at all.  My memory is sharper and clearer as well.

-KK

I was having frequent and severe headaches, major fatigue with the “afternoon crash”, bowel problems and sleep problems.  Working in the Nutrition Response program, now my headaches are gone, I wake up energized, my bowel movements have greatly improved and are more regular and I sleep more soundly than ever.

-HO

Before I came in to the Nutrition Clinic, I was always stuffy.  I had a lot of drainage and always sounded very nasally.  After one week on my supplement program, I can breathe great and I notice a huge change. There has been a lot less stuffiness.  Thank you!!

-MR

Before I came in to see you, I was tired and hungry and ate sugary food between meals.  I would eat processed and fast foods.  Once I began a nutrition program, after the second week, I noticed that I have a lot less hunger between meals.  I have less desire to grab sugar snacks.  I just don’t have the desire to go there.

-BD

My 6 yr. old daughter’s hands were covered with warts; all over her fingers, palms, etc.  We’d tried both natural remedies and freezing, which was very painful.  Now, they are completely gone!  Within 3 weeks they were almost gone, and at 6 weeks her hands were normal-back to sweet little girl hands.  She is SO happy!

-SN

It just seemed like everything took so much effort.  I found myself wondering how it happened, because I wasn’t always like this.  Was everything downhill from here?  That thought alone was depressing.  Exercising didn’t seem to do a thing, except make me sweat. I found I was giving up.  In just a short time, I have seen and felt that inner spark that seemed to have been long gone.  My energy is coming back, and with that new energy, things are getting done.  Organization feels great to achieve.  This is amazing and I’m loving it.  All the things I’ve tried before have been a waste of time and money.  With Nutrition Response Testing I see and feel results.  By this I know this is the right thing to do for myself!

-AP

Before I started my Nutrition Response Testing, my monthly cycle was painful.  For at least one to two weeks, I would have horrible, constant headaches and my neck and back were stiff and in constant pain.  It would start before my period, last the duration of and sometimes even be there after it stopped.  Since starting my nutrition program, when my cycle started, I had none of the pain or stiffness that I had before.  This time, I had only a slight headache during, not before or after and it was NOTHING like before.  I feel pretty good otherwise!

-CM

Prior to Nutrition Response Testing, I experienced an un-diagnosed pain in my spleen area and ongoing pain in my right arm and hand as a result of double-whiplash from a car accident.  Shortly after beginning this program, the abdominal pain gradually decreased.  After beginning the laser treatment on my episiotomy scar, the abdominal pain has completely gone away.

-SH

Before I came in I mostly suffered from headaches.  I never felt like I was in really rough shape, but now I don’t get as many headaches and I do eat better! ( though I still slip up occasionally)

-ML

Before I came in to the Nutrition Clinic, I was feeling depressed and had no motivation.  I am moving out of the country and wanted to do something about my health.  There’s been a lot of stress involved with the move; packing, finances, etc. and usually that would really affect me.  Now, I wake up feeling OK and I have more energy and feel more lively than I have in a long time!

-MM

Before I started this program, I had an extremely achy body and therefore had trouble sleeping. It surprisingly didn’t take very long at all to correct my sleep quality once I made alterations to my diet.  Now I can lie down without feeling any sharp shooting pain between my shoulder blades!  It’s truly amazing how much diet can affect your health and it’s so great that I have this program to help guide and rebuild my body to better health.  Sleep at night is so essential to function for the day so I can’t thank them enough for helping me get that back!

-TM

I had a very high stress level and became overwhelmed by anxiety very easily; anxiety attacks and emotional breakdowns.  I thought this was a purely “psychological” problem and could not imagine that eating/nutrition had anything to do with it.  I thought I was a fairly healthy person. Dr. Jenn helped me fine tune my diet in ways I didn’t even realize were necessary.  I have such a sense of well-being now.  I can’t remember the last time I felt stressed or overwhelmed.  I feel more rested and refreshed when I sleep and more able to tackle my day with energy.  I’m even exercising more because I have so much energy!

-KK

I suffered from headaches and terrible low back pain which was starting to affect my legs.  I was getting steroid injections every 4 months in my lower back.  I suffered from stomach issues and heartburn, was overweight and just felt yucky!  When I began my program, I tested sensitive to dairy and sugar.  By eliminating them from my diet, my headaches and stomach issues have stopped.  I have lost 44 pounds and I no longer need steroid injections in my back.  I feel amazing!

-SG

I had chronic and widespread pain, including extreme shoulder pain. I had been in physical therapy (P.T.) since April (9 months) and the shoulder surgeon wanted to do exploratory surgery and the foot surgeon also said surgery was our only option.  After being on my nutrition program for 2 weeks, my PT said that she felt a difference in my muscles and inflammation, which she had not seen any improvement in all summer.  She now wants to attend a workshop and work with Dr. Jenn.  I know that eating a clean diet with no white refined sugar or wheat really improves my inflammation and depression.  With the help of the Nutrition Response Testing supplements it is easier to feed my body what it really needs.

-HD

I was tired and just felt bad overall.  I had a number of canker sores in my mouth all the time since last March (2011).  Now, I have been on the program with Dr. Doug for a short period of time and my energy level is already up, I feel better than I have in a long time and I have gone three weeks now with no sores in my mouth.  Fantastic!!

-NC

I was getting heart burn all the time, every night.  I also had very bad itching of my skin, and couldn’t get rid of it.  It was really bothering me and I was very uncomfortable.  I also wasn’t sleeping well, didn’t have much energy and needed to lose weight. Now, I feel GREAT. Unbelievable how much of a difference there is.  I have no more heartburn or itching, and I have lost 12 pounds.  This is the best I have felt in many years.  Thank you Dr. Doug and Jenn.  I recommend this program to anyone who is feeling not real well or wants to make some change in life.

-GC

I was concerned about some neurological issues; some weakness on my left side that I’d been experiencing for years, on and off.   I have not noticed the weakness in a couple of months and some tingling in my left foot has almost disappeared.  I never had terrible allergies but experienced erratic allergy symptoms due to seasonal pollens, etc.  I don’t think I have had even one allergic attack in a couple of months since seeing Dr. Jenn.  Additionally, I have noticed that my hair which normally comes out a lot after I have a baby, and then tapers off some after that, but still an issue; I noticed that now, when I shower, I may have one or two come off my head and I’ve noticed that in just about the last month.

-KM

Before I came in to see Dr. Doug I was overweight, had a lack of energy, lots of aches and pains and had a poor diet.  Now, after about 4-5 months, I have lost 20 lbs and 4 inches off my waist.  I exercise some every day and my fasting glucose is now in the 80s (I am diabetic).  I had to buy new clothes!  I am eating healthier now without even thinking about it.  A good diet and exercise are now a habit, not a chore.

-TP

What patients are saying…..

Every time my daughter got a small cold it would turn into a full blown sinus infection and affect her breathing.  She would end up on a steroid and breathing treatments.  Since she’s been on a nutritional program, she was able to make it through a whole season of no breathing treatments.  She got a small cold but was able to get through it without even a visit to the pediatrician.  This has never happened before.  She is continuing to become stronger and stronger with her immune system.  Thank you Dr. Jenn!!

-NH

Before I started Nutrition Response Testing, I weighed 250 lbs, I was on 2 blood pressure medications, cholesterol medication (40 mg.) and I could not sleep through the night.  I would wake up every hour 6-8 times a night.  After 3 months of NRT, I have lost 25 lbs., I am on only 1 medication for blood pressure and have reduced my cholesterol med down to 20 mg. with plans to be off all medications soon.  I am only getting up 1-2 times a night and I am sleeping much sounder.  I feel great and have a lot more energy.

-GL

Before I came in, I felt tired all the time.  Exercise wasn’t helping me to lose weight no matter what I tried.  I was always hungry.  I suffered from migraines too.  The kind where light hurt and you’d bury your head in a pillow and waste a whole day.  Now, I am beginning to lose weight (yay!!).  I am still hungry some, but I am making better choices; the ones that are right for my body and I’m less tired.  I no longer have migraines.  I do still get an occasional headache, but I’m not confined to my room, and I don’t lose a whole day (or days!) like before.  Overall, I notice an improvement.

-AP

In high school and college, when I would run long distance, my feet and my legs from the knees down would fall asleep as I ran.  Now, since being on the right nutrition, I can run a 5K and I only have a small amount of tingling in my left foot.  It is almost completely gone and the circulation in my legs is much better.

-MR

Every Spring and Summer I would need to depend on sinus medication.  Now, I haven’t needed any this year because of better nutrition, the supplements and Dr. Jenn’s and Jennifer’s guidance.

-CK

I experienced diarrhea for almost three months with multiple watery stools every day.  I always had to know where a bathroom was.  Parasites were the priority in my initial treatment.  Now, I have 2-4 stools per day that are formed in consistency and do not interfere with my life.

-BC

Before I came in, I had very loose bowel movements, indigestion and sleep issues. After only a few weeks on a program with Dr. Jenn, my indigestion is totally gone, my sleep issues have improved greatly, and the bowel movements are more normal and firm.

-JB

Before I came in, my scalp was an itchy, peeling mess.  I also had a very poor sleeping pattern of only 2-4 hours of sleep a night.  Now, my scalp is clear and I sleep 8 hours most nights.

-AM

My son has had Type 1-Diabetes for 9 years.  For about the last 2-3 years, his blood sugar numbers were all over and hard to consistently control.  We were nervous about entering into his teen years knowing that this part of his life would cause his blood sugar numbers to be even more out of whack.  His skin was always very dry and scabby from being itched and scratched.  In the winter, the bottoms of his feet would have large, painful splits that never seemed to completely heal.

After seeing Dr. Jenn for less than a year, the improvements are absolutely amazing!  His blood sugar numbers are in control with very few highs and lows.  He is using less insulin with better results.  He is happier, his skin has cleared up and he seems to have more energy than I’ve seen in him since he was a toddler.  He has become interested in the food that he eats and has a great base knowledge of healthy foods!  He has definitely made the connection between the foods that he eats and how he feels, physically and emotionally.  Every 3 months, he sees his endocrinologist and has a diabetes “check up”, with his A1C (blood glucose levels over several months) taken.  Since seeing Dr. Jenn, his A1C has lowered 3 points and is exactly where it should be for his age.  At the same time, he’s using less insulin.  His endo. doctor was so surprised at this!  We weren’t.  We knew!

-SK

Before I came in the Nutrition Clinic, I had frequent loose stools, indigestion and bloating, strong sugar cravings and almost constant canker sores.  Now, only a few months later, my stools have more form to them, and my bloating is gone.  My sugar cravings are also gone and I have no more canker sores!

-JB

What patients are saying…..

I felt terrible; I could not breathe, had no energy.  I can now breathe from my diaphragm and I have much more energy!  I feel alive again.

-NA

I had a ganglion cyst on the top of my wrist and I was scheduled for surgery.  It is gone!  Between proper supplements, nutrition and chiropractic care, I can freely move my wrist and the cyst is gone.

-CK

Before I came into the Nutrition clinic, I was moody, depressed, anxious, couldn’t keep weight on along with a lack of appetite.  I also had trouble sleeping.  Now when things get me down, my head seems clearer and I am able to concentrate on the problem to solve it more calmly.  I’m no longer waking up in the middle of the night wide awake, my appetite is back and I’m craving less junk food and more whole foods.

-CD

Before I came in to see Dr. Jenn I was very stressed and tired.  Bowel movements were a problem for me and I always had a cold or a headache.  My biggest issue was my severe headaches that had come on since my brain aneurysm.  Now, it seems like everyone around me is always sick (and I used to be too!), but now I am hardly ever down.  I don’t have any problems sleeping, I am eating healthier, my bowel movements are regular, and I am happier overall.  My headaches are so much better; I hardly have any!

-BO

My hair is thin and fine, I was losing quite a bit more than usual; I had leg cramps every other week and they would ache a lot.  My heartburn was so bad that I had chest pain and pain under my breasts almost constantly.  My sugar cravings were an everyday event.  After just one month working with this program, my heartburn and the pain in my chest were minimal.  There is no pain under my breasts at all anymore.  My leg cramps are gone.  At 3 months on the program, my nails are stronger, my hair loss has actually stopped and my hair looks healthier!  My sugar cravings have decreased.  I feel fuller quicker now where I would have eaten more before.  My energy level has increased dramatically since starting this program.  I’m still working on my weight but I feel so much better.  My body doesn’t have the aches and pains I had when I first started.

-MS

Before starting this program with Dr. Jenn, I had carpal tunnel symptoms in both arms/wrists/hands making it very difficult to drive, type, and grip things tightly. My general practitioner told me it was affecting me enough that I should see a specialist and look at the options of cortisone injections or surgery.  Now, I’m not having my hands get tingly or hurting at all.  Driving is not a problem anymore.  My grip is getting stronger all the time.

-KW

What patients are saying…..

I was overweight, tired, had no “get up and go”,and just pretty much felt like a couch potato and I that I was just wasting my life.  I’ve lost close to 40 lbs. and I seem to have more energy.  I am starting to work on getting my muscles toned up to try and look my best which leads to feeling better overall.

-MM

Before I came in I was tired, bloated and my skin was full of hives.  My bowel movements were also sporadic.  Now, after only a few weeks on the program, my skin is noticeably different and also I am not as bloated as I was.

-KP

I felt tired, sluggish, bloated at times along with fatigue.  I also was experiencing a variety of joint pain (knees, elbows, wrists), primarily due to on the job.  I have lost more than 13 pounds.  I am experiencing more energy, less to no joint pain and just an overall feeling better.    My wife has also joined me in this new overall lifestyle change and it has made it easier and more enjoyable for both of us.  We have become accountability partners and find we are of the same mindset.  So far so good! We look forward to improved overall health.  Be healthy!

-DK

Heartburn was an almost everyday occurrence, especially if I went too long between meals.  If I became nervous or anxious, I would also get heartburn.  Since I have been on my Nutrition Response Testing program, I no longer have heartburn at all-even if my meals are far apart or I’m nervous or anxious.

Before seeing Dr. Jenn a year ago, I had been diagnosed with colitis and had diarrhea “attacks” frequently.  I spent years being nervous about riding in a car with anyone but my husband as I needed to very suddenly get to a bathroom often.  I knew the location of every restroom in every store I frequented.  I would not go on long walks or go anywhere where I did not have quick access to a bathroom.  I was afraid to eat or drink while on trips or shopping or things of that nature as it might cause an “attack”.

Just recently I took some of my children to the March for Life in Washington, DC and spent 2 days walking around and touring the city.  I rarely have these sudden attacks anymore. We were out in the city for hours and I thoroughly enjoyed it!  I would not have even considered this trip just 1 year ago.  We carried our lunch and snacks and ate and enjoyed!  I so appreciate being able to get out and enjoy events like this with my children.  I didn’t realize how much I was being held back by a condition that was controlling me.  I have learned so much and now I’m in control!  It’s a good feeling.  Thanks Dr Jenn!

What patients are saying…..

I had major fatigue-could never get enough sleep; 10-12 hours a night, plus naps.  My skin was dry and itchy as was my hair.  I also was dealing with alternating constipation and diarrhea.  I had sinus headaches with weather changes.  I was also cranky and moody with high anxiety.

I now feel full of energy-no more need for daily naps.  My skin color is back and it’s no longer itchy.  My nails and hair are both thicker and growing longer.  I don’t have my belly bloat and gas any more either.  I feel totally different; no longer cranky and constantly groggy.  My family and friends have noticed a change in me stating that I have my “spark” back.  I also have not taken over the counter sinus headache meds in months as the change in weather/temperature no longer cause major headaches for me.  I have also learned so much about my diet choices and how it affects my body.  Dr. Jenn and Jennifer are so unbelievably helpful and encouraging without overwhelming you.         

What patients are saying…..          

 March 2013

MONSTERS INSIDE ME (Patient titled)

I’m a 52 yr white male, and have been blessed as I have traveled to 40 some countries. Over the last 30 yrs I was first diagnosed with Crohn’s disease, and 15 yrs ago with diverticulitis and irritable bowel syndrome. Recently over 8 months I gradually lost 48 lbs., had abdominal pain, flu like symptoms, insomnia and a total lack of energy. I went to urgent care and was put on Z-pack antibiotic.  After a month of these same symptoms I went back as I thought I was dying and had pneumonia as I was up every night coughing up clear phlegm.  They did a chest x-ray which came back clear and they thought this was a flare up of my irritable syndrome or diverticulitis.

I knew something was not right with my body, and did a nutritional study.  I came in on a Monday and by Wednesday I was given results. I was told my body was stressed by a parasitic challenge and my body was a host.  At first I was scared, later in the day I was very relieved as many days I’ve stayed in hospital with no fix. I started taking the natural supplements and within 7 days I started passing these parasites. Yes it was very gross and yeah I took pictures, but I was very happy to know these things that have been feeding on me were finally being killed and passing through my stool. It’s been only 2 months now and I have no insomnia, my energy level has increased by at least 50% and I have put back on 15 lbs. I can’t say enough of what Dr. Doug and Jenn his assistant have done. The third week they discovered a smaller parasitic challenge and I am taking a supplement to help with that. Remember you don’t have to travel outside of the USA like I have to become a host. Google human parasites. I can’t express in words what Dr. Doug has done for me.  Within 3 weeks, family, friends and co workers noticed a change of flesh tone, weight gain, and clearer eyes and not as irritable!!!!!

-DG

  There are many “symptoms” of pregnancy that are considered completely normal by most literature out there.  Constipation, back and neck pain, heartburn, leg cramps, headaches, mood problems, even depression.  Dr. Jenn has helped me through nutritional management of my diet and supplement regimen and some chiropractic work to manage and eliminate all of these supposedly “normal” symptoms.  My fatigue has been manageable, my sleep more restful and my digestive symptoms eliminated.  I have been able to continue working full time and keep up an exercise regimen throughout my pregnancy because I have felt so well.  At the very beginning I had about 3 weeks of nausea and Dr. Jenn helped me add nutrition to my smoothies (the only thing I could stomach) so that my baby was still getting all the protein, vitamins and minerals she needed in the early weeks of her development.  I feel so good as a mom knowing that even before my baby is born I’m doing everything I can for her health.

-KH

I started Nutrition Response Testing because of encouragement from my husband as he was having great success.  I was tired, achy, overweight and dealing with a Diet Coke addiction.  In just a short time (1.5 months), I’ve lost over 10 pounds, only have an occasional Diet Coke (maybe 1 a week) and feel better rested and more energetic.  I’m looking forward to continued improvement and feel much more confident that I will finally reach my goals.

-PK

I was dealing with constant stomach pain, bloating and constipation as well as being constantly hungry. I was also feeling tired and depressed.

Now I’m bloated much less and have regular eliminations. Since eating better foods I’m noticing that I’m not constantly hungry anymore. I’m often feeling less tired and less depressed.

-DT

April 2013

“Two and half years ago, I was taking Zyrtec daily, as well as two different inhalers; one a steroid, every day, just to breathe and make it through my day.  I thought that the new inhaler was a God-send, because then I didn’t need my rescue inhaler as much.  As I began my nutrition program for other, even more immediate issues, I started to need my inhalers less and less.  I eventually went through the allergy desensitization work through my program here, and with cleaning up my diet of my food avoidances and refined sugars, I needed my allergy medication less and less as well.  Eventually, my health got to the point where my medications were actually causing stress to my body, especially my heart.  Anyone who has taken these medications knows that shaky, awful feeling.  With Dr. Jenn and Dr. Doug’s help, I was able to slowly wean off all my medications for my allergies and asthma and I haven’t taken them for over a year and half now-even during allergy seasons!  You could never have told me that I wouldn’t be on a drug for the rest of my life for my lifelong (40 years!) asthma, but it’s true.  With the whole food supplements and sometimes some herbal and homeopathic remedies, I am managing my occasional allergy symptoms and I wouldn’t even classify myself as asthmatic anymore!  This work (and how it works with the innate intelligence of the human body) is nothing short of amazing!”

-Patient Advocate at Lakeland Chiropractic, Jennifer Browner

 

May 2013

Before I started Nutrition Response Testing I had a lot of health issues. I had been on acid reflux meds for years. My cholesterol was high; I had muscular aches and soreness, swelling, anxiety, forgetfulness, fatigues and constipation. I also had allergies and asthma. I feel so much better! I no longer take acid reflux or allergies meds. My cholesterol meds are reduced by 30 mg. I do not have muscular aches, soreness and swelling. My anxiety level is greatly reduced. I sleep much better, my digestion no longer constipated. I have lost 32 lbs and down 4 sizes.

-DM

I was overweight and had several medical problems such as high blood pressure and high cholesterol. Also I had problems sleeping and frequent trips to the bathroom during the night. I now sleep better, only getting up once per night. My cholesterol is better and I’ve reduced my medication from 40 mg to 20 mg. Blood pressure is under control and I’ve lost 15 lbs and have more energy.

-GL

Before I was very fatigued, tired all the time and I slept 10-12 hours a night. Overall I didn’t ever feel like doing much of anything. Now I have more energy and am not falling asleep so early at night and I am able to get up earlier in the morning. I’m feeling better, more positive and upbeat.

-SP

I could eat hardly anything without belching or bloating. I also couldn’t drink coffee. That was awful!! My periods were all over the place, very irregular, sometimes 7-10 days (or more!) and sometimes twice a month. Now I can eat almost anything and I can drink coffee again! I am so happy! My periods are back to normal, consistent and back to 3-4 days.

-LB

When I started coming I was struggling on various levels. I had major issues with burping and heartburn. It seemed I was at the point where I couldn’t eat anything without an uncomfortable sensation. My husband was driven crazy in the evenings by my constant burping. I felt bloated most of the time and generally uncomfortable. I experienced at least two “crashes” every day where all I wanted was FOOD. Usually salty and carb-laden. I was tired all the time and struggled to get out of bed in the morning. I had tried diet after diet and I still struggle with my weight. I run a lot and love to exercise, but something was missing and I felt generally unhealthy.  After my first evaluation I cut a few things from my diet. I also became more cognizant of what I was feeding myself in my diet. Within about 5 weeks the burping and heartburn was almost completely gone! My fatigue had more or less disappeared and I felt in control of my food throughout the day. I experienced far less cravings for unhealthy food and I actually want the “good” stuff now.  Dr. Doug and Jennifer have helped me ease my way out of bad habits and make good choices that make me feel good inside and out. It is continuing to be a journey of self-discovery, but I learn at each step. I was a skeptic at first, but the results are remarkable! I talk about this process with everyone I know! I’ve spent at least 20 years screwing with my body, my metabolism, and my “natural” workings. I love feeling like I am repairing that damage.

-KK

Before coming in to the practice I was suffering digestion problems all the time. I would get heartburn from just about everything; sometimes even water would give me heartburn. I also suffered irregular bowel movements. I was either constipated or had very loose stools. I thought this was a pretty normal thing because for as long as I can remember I had been like that. Lastly I struggled with my weight some. I was bloated and could not get to a weight I was happy with.

I am so pleased with where I’m at today and I’m looking forward to continued improvements. It’s only been 6 weeks and my heartburn is gone. I only had 2 bouts of indigestion in the first week of treatment. Now it’s gone and hasn’t returned! My stools are much more normal and consistent and I’ve had very little bloating. I’ve also lost 10 pounds! I feel so much better and plan to stay the course.

-SG

What patients are saying…..

I had right shoulder pain for over 2 ½ years. I had pain in the joint with certain movements and I avoided putting any pressure on it. My range of motion was very limited.   Since being on my nutrition program for 2 ½ years now my range of motion is back to normal. My pain is gone and I have no symptoms.

-MH

I was diagnosed with a mitral valve leak (mild) and aortic regurgitation. I was feeling very tired after my workouts. I had irregular body eliminations and also frequent sore throats from acid reflux and a weak voice.

The mitral valve leakage is now considered trace and my cardiologist says that it is not worth discussing. I am watching the moderate aortic regurgitation still but I feel much less tired after my workouts, have regular body elimination habits and feel like I’m doing something to help my heart. My voice also feels stronger than it has in years.

-SP

I am 62 years old and have been doing Nutrition Response Testing for a little over a year now. About 8 years ago, I had to stop working out at Curves because of extreme pain in my left shoulder. My doctor told me that I had arthritis and that I needed physical therapy. She gave me exercises to do, however, after doing them once; I couldn’t sleep for three nights because of the pain so I didn’t do them anymore. I figured that shoulder surgery was in my future.  Sometime within the last couple of months, my shoulder pain has disappeared and I am able to do exercises that involve my shoulders again. Through Nutrition Response Testing my shoulder has healed itself. Thank you Dr. Jenn, I am so grateful for what you do.

-JB

Before coming in I was feeling tired and had some digestive issues. Now I feel like I have steady energy throughout the day and with my workouts. My irritable bowel symptoms have decreased as long as I’m eating right. Sugar is the #1 enemy.

-MH

What brought me to Dr. Jenn was the desire for better health and relief of my chronic pain and symptoms of COPD.  My breathing was much labored. Now I have had quite the turnaround in my breathing. It is so much better-I was at a point where getting ready for the day caused extreme shortness of breath and a loss of energy. Well no more! I am re-energized and breathing so much better.

-NM

I exercise regularly and couldn’t lose the last few pounds in my hips and thighs. Suddenly my hips and thighs are shrinking and I didn’t come here for weight loss! I’m not dieting in any way. I’m following what my body is telling me and I have more energy. I look more fit and toned all over my body and my skin and hair look great.

-SP

Before I came in I was tired, sluggish and couldn’t think or concentrate well and this week I felt clearer, had more energy and am not feeling so sluggish.

-MB

Before I came in I suffered from a lot of bloating and constipation and low energy. After only 10 days on supplements I am almost entirely “bloat-free,” have had regular bowel movements daily and am amazed at how much more energy I have. I also have lost 4 pounds!

-MP

Before I came in I was feeling dizzy and couldn’t seem to lose any weight. Now my dizziness has gone away and I’ve lost some weight.

-GM

 

Before I came in to see Dr. Doug I felt run down; tired all the time. My body felt achy all over. My legs were restless and I had horrible shin splints. I would be anxious, always thinking; my mind would keep me awake at night or even wake me up out of a dead sleep.

 

After a full year, I’m here to say that I’m in a much better state. My legs don’t hurt at all; my energy level is a lot better than last year. I am sleeping through the night and not feeling anxious like I used to. I rarely get any headaches. I used to get migraines throughout the year. I haven’t had one since I started the program.

– MS

What patients are saying…..

I was going through menopause. I had difficulty sleeping and very bad night sweats. My doctor had prescribed Gabapentin (for nerve pain). It made me groggy all day and I wasn’t happy in general.

 How is it now?

Much better! No more night sweats. I am totally off the prescription. Dr. Jenn also helped me eliminate all sugar substitutes. I am sleeping very well and even my day time “hot flashes” are minimal.

-LM

 

 

What was it like before you came in to see us?

I had a lot of pain, and jerky legs from what I understand is my MS (Multiple Sclerosis) and it happens daily, mostly at night, making it difficult to sleep. On and off is normal for me and in terms of sleep amount.

How is it now?

Amazing! After 2 weeks I noticed the pain at night was gone and I slept for an amount of time before waking to realize I wasn’t having issues at all. Now 3 weeks into this program, I am not having any pain, jerky legs and sleep sound throughout.

-HJ

My eyesight was getting worse as I got older and I had joint pain and stiffness, feelings of stress and being overwhelmed by everyday life. The last time I went to have my eyes checked they had improved! My feelings of stress have almost disappeared. I recently had the experience of running out of my supplements and because of weather conditions I wasn’t able to get refills for two weeks. All of my previous symptoms had returned and my vision had worsened. I also have noticed my sugar addiction increases my joint pain and stiffness which lessen when I stop using sugar.

-JJ

What was it like before you came in to see us?

Headaches upon waking up after a short night; lack of energy and motivation, feelings of discouragement and feeling stressed out about my un-stressful life.

How is it now?

More energy, happier, less stress and I feel like “I can handle it.” Headaches are gone!

-MS

What was it like before you came in to see us?

I was taking multiple synthetic vitamins, digestive issues and had a lack of energy.

 How is it now?

I’m taking less synthetic vitamins. I’m not taking fiber anymore and am having regular bowel movements. I am sleeping better, have an increase in energy, I don’t have that midday “blah” anymore and am down to 1 cup of coffee a day when I used to drink around 3-4 cups a day.

-DW

I suffered from severe acid reflux and was taking prescribed antacid medication three times a day. Now I am off the medication and no longer have symptoms as long as I strictly adhere to my program.

-GH

 

What was it like before you came in to see us?

My main concerns were with dizziness and leg and muscle pain.

How is it now?

My dizziness is completely gone! The leg and muscle pain is still there but improving. I am feeling much better overall.

-GM

 

Any exercise or prolonged stress tended to end in me being sick. I often would not be able to “see”/recognize what was happening until I was on the other side of the situation and was just miserable and sick. Now I am still more sensitive to stress and it does affect me physically, but my body can physically handle it and I can pull through it without getting sick. And, more importantly, instead of being trapped and overwhelmed, I recognize what is happening!

-KW

What was it like before you came in to see us?

Pain everywhere. Ulcerative colitis disease symptoms. Foggy brain. Horrible memory. Used to get about 4 hours of sleep per night and had ZERO energy.

How is it now?

Zero pain! Ulcerative colitis medicines down to 50%. Clear thinking most of the time. Memory improving and getting about 6 hours of sleep a night. Energy level is increasing.

-ST

What was it like before you came in to see us?

Bad headaches, feeling lousy and didn’t feel like I was getting enough sleep. This kept me out of hockey because this was the result of a concussion. Exercise bothered me.

How is it now?

I’m off of gluten and my headaches are completely gone. I’m feeling much more energetic. Returned to hockey and exercise does not bother me anymore.

-BH

Before I came to see Dr. Jenn for my nutrition testing, I was having joint pain and stiffness especially in my hips and knees. I could hardly bend over and could not sit cross legged on the floor at all.

Now only a little over a month into my program, I can bend over and sit cross legged. Putting socks on is much easier! My pain and stiffness is no where near 100% but in just the short time I’ve noticed much improvement. I’m excited about the future and feeling much better!

-JM

 

What was it like before you came in to see us?

My health was in a critical stage. Years of unaddressed issues, eating and nutrition. I was in a great deal of pain. My sleep was continually interrupted. Quality of life was diminished.

How is it now?

I am no long critical. I am no longer in pain! There is stability to these improvements-by staying consistent in making recommended changes- that has changed my life!

-KG

One of my main concerns that caused me to come in was a terrible swollen feeling in my knees. I cannot take synthetic drugs and have learned I must be patient with natural healing. However! After one week of giving my body the nutrients it needed my odd knee infection was already symptom free!

-LK

 

I have binocular double vision, which means I see one image above the other. It had progressed to the point that it affected everything I did on a daily basis including reading and looking at myself in a mirror. My ophthalmologist recommended me for surgery.

After seeing Dr. Jennifer for several months the double vision has improved to the point that sometimes I forget that I even have it. I am confident that with the help of Nutrition Response Testing, it will one day be completely gone. Thank you Dr. Jenn, you have worked a miracle.

-JB

I have two main areas that I would point to as success and improvement. When I first started Nutrition Response Testing at Lakeland Chiropractic I didn’t have any severe problems and generally felt good. I had a knee operation in the winter of 2010 and still had stiffness and less than 100% range of mobility in that knee. One day while working out I twisted the opposite knee and wrenched it so badly I was unable to walk on it for the better part of a day or so; having to use crutches to get around. Upon my next regular check up I mentioned that I had twisted my knee and was given a supplement to help with the lingering pain and stiffness. To my surprise not only did it immediately help with the knee that I had recently hurt but the range of motion and stiffness in the knee that I had operated on has also improved.

The second main area that Nutrition Response Testing has helped me in is periods of brief dizziness that I’ve had off and on over the last 5 years or so. Completely out of the blue I would have episodes of brief dizziness that would come on and go away. These bouts were never so severe that I felt like I’d pass out or lose consciousness but they would leave me feeling unsure if I could remain standing and I would usually sit down until the feeling passed. One morning before coming into my appointment I was cleaning out some old shampoo bottles from the shower and picked up a plastic bottle that had been sitting around mostly empty for quite some time, upon touching it and before I could make it to the trash bin I became so dizzy that I almost passed out. I was so concerned that I contemplated canceling my appointment as I was afraid that if another incident like that took place while driving I might cause an accident.  After a few minutes the feeling subsided and I kept my appointment; upon being seen and without me even mentioning the experience I had that morning Stephanie honed in on the problem; I had a sensitivity to plastics. At that point I told Stephanie the story and it occurred to me that in all the other instances of these dizzy spells I was drinking out of plastic bottles or containers. Needless to say I stay away from as many plastics as I can these days and along with the supplements I take I no longer have had an issue with this problem.

-SK

Upon beginning my nutrition program, I had been struggling with IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome), headaches, fatigue, and menopause symptoms.  Now, 5 months in, my energy levels have dramatically increased, my headaches are under control and I have had NO issues with IBS to date.  My menopause symptoms are also dramatically improved, to the point where I am managing everything naturally; I am off all of my hormone replacement therapy medication!  Usually this time of year (Fall), I am usually taking an over the counter medication for my allergies, and my allergies are much better, even without medications!

-DW

Before I came in I had a lot of allergies and digestive problems. I have been on a Nutrition Response Testing program for a year and a half now and am no longer lactose intolerant and can eat oatmeal which used to give me all kinds of gas. Last week I spent 6 days at a house pet sitting a dog and two cats. The cats did not cause me any problems. I am no longer allergic to cats. Also this spring when the trees were blooming I was able to leave the windows in the house open whereas before if I did I would get so congested and have trouble breathing.

-ED

 

Shortly after we were married, my husband started Nutrition Response Testing with Dr. Jenn. He was skeptical at first about this very different approach to managing your health. He is a generally healthy and active guy but since being on a nutrition program for over a year now, it’s awesome to see how he has really optimized his health. He’s been able to quickly work through any little colds or viruses that have come his way. I have heard him say on multiple occasions how he just “feels better” overall. His digestive health, energy levels and sleep quality have all greatly improved. He also views food and how it affects our bodies differently than he did before and takes his diet more seriously.  Our daughter Harper has been seen by Dr. Jenn since she was only a few days old. She’s now almost a year and half old and it’s amazing to see how she’s thrived! Dr. Jenn has helped me tremendously in managing a respiratory virus over the winter and a febrile illness this summer that brought on a skin rash. Her immune system is so strong! She has slept beautifully since she was only 4 days old… a definite parental perk! She has a very broad palate for a small toddler and happily scarfs down vegetables and when she sometimes has to be on a supplement, she even happily takes those!  We are currently expecting baby #2, due at Thanksgiving time. Like many moms will say, pregnancy #2 has been a bit more challenging but Dr. Jenn has really helped me in managing emotional/hormonal swings, digestive issues, a fungal infection and a short respiratory virus. All were very short lived and it’s awesome to feel like everything is really in balance. Having Dr. Jenn check our growing little boy every few weeks and adjusting my vitamins, minerals and fish oil based on baby’s current needs makes me feel confident that our little guy is getting just what he needs.  Throughout both of my pregnancies I have never had to take any of the many things that women usually need during and after pregnancy – pain medication, stool softeners, antibiotics/antifungals, antacids, anything! And not because I’m that tough (I’m really not!) but just because I truly haven’t needed any of it. Being on a nutrition program + chiropractic care has enabled by body to do what it was designed to do- naturally and safely grow, nourish and deliver 1 (soon 2!) beautiful babies.

-KH

I started a nutrition program in late July of 2014 and was experiencing hot flashes- sometimes 10-20 during the day. At night it was worse. I woke several times a night drenched in sweat. I was not sleeping well at all.  Since being on nutrition program it has been a couple of weeks since I’ve had a hot flash. I’m sleeping like a baby and I don’t have to wear “summer clothes” every day. It’s AMAZING!

-AH

I am writing this for my daughter; Eva was in tremendous pain due to tightness and inflammation of her Achilles tendon (Sever’s Disease). The pain prohibited her from playing soccer at her highest level and she had daily inflammation she had to deal with. Eva was taking upwards to 8 tablets of 200 mg of ibuprofen a day to help with the inflammation, as well as ice baths, stretching and sleeping with a Strassburg sock. Even with all of these medical interventions, Eva was still experiencing tremendous pain that prohibited her from playing a full game, doing her training runs or training back-to-back days.

Since starting her Nutrition Response Testing program, Eva is now virtually pain free. She is able to train and play at her highest level-even back-to-back nights and games if necessary. Eva’s recovery from strenuous high impact has improved and her Achilles is recovering at the same rate as her other muscles and tendons. Eva no longer needs Motrin before or after activity. Eva no longer sleeps with a Strassburg sock and she has been able to add her training runs back into her routine. Her Achilles and calves tire/fatigue at the same rate as her other muscles and tendons. She is able to make cuts and no longer has excruciating pain if her calf/tendon is kicked. She’s thrilled!

-KG

On 9/9/14 I came in for my chiropractic appointment and to put it mildly I was coughing my head off because you see, I have asthma. For whatever reason it had decided to rear its ugly head. I was not sleeping and eating was difficult because my throat was so raw from the cough, that anything I ate would set it off. I had been coughing for nearly two weeks with multiple visits to my MD. More steroids were given. I knew about Nutrition Response Testing because I had seen the video at the office. When I came in for my normal chiropractic visit with Dr. Jenn I felt pretty bad (okay, really bad). I asked her if she thought Nutrition Response Testing could help me. She said she thought it would. I was desperate and totally on board with whatever I needed to do to feel better. Also I had eczema so bad on my hands, they were cracking and painful.

By 9/11/14 I was scheduled for my first appointment. I was told I needed to eliminate all eggs and soy. So I did. I read labels on all my food (there is so much soy in food). The cough was starting to ease up a week into my supplements. A few appointments later I was told I needed to remove dairy from my diet. I did it and I can really tell you I don’t feel like I’m suffering in any way. Really!

So where am I five weeks later? Well I’m feeling way better! My cough is insignificant now. I have it very, very occasionally, but I’m still healing. My eczema has cleared up on my hands. They don’t hurt, they don’t itch, and they are not cracked. I’m not embarrassed by them anymore. I’m sleeping so GREAT! But the best news of all- I went for a physical last week, I took a breathing test and it was NORMAL! (Woo Hoo!) I also tend to have higher cholesterol. I went back and checked last year’s numbers which were 207. This year was 172! (Woo Hoo again!) My MD said that is the lowest I’ve ever been. In fact all of my numbers for my blood had improved. I was where I was supposed to be. So not only am I getting my lungs on track but also my whole health has improved.

Thank you Dr. Jenn and the whole Nutrition Response Testing team! Truly a team of caring people, who are there to give you advice, share ideas on food with you and cheer you on because they are as excited as I am with my new good health. I have learned so much, I’m so grateful.

Feeling better than I ever have,

Roni Lundy

What our patients are saying…..

 

I wanted to share this latest little success in my journey as a Nutrition patient.  Last week on Monday, I allowed myself to be talked into going to Urgent Care because I was having trouble with chest congestion and coughing fits and not being able to even say two or three words together without running out of breath or having to cough.  I didn’t want to have to take too many sick days and was being told I probably needed to be on antibiotics to be at work.

So, I went to urgent care and was prescribed amoxicillin.  I came to see Dr. Jenn last Friday for a Nutrition Response Testing consult.  She has had me taking an acute dose of Antronex (10 tablets) first thing in the morning and then 5 more as needed. After just two days of doing that, I felt much better than after four days of amoxicillin.  I have continued to follow this instruction and continue to significantly improve each day.  I am coughing much less, experiencing less drainage/congestion, and can easily carry on a conversation.

Dr. Jenn and Jenn Browner also reassured me that I should always come for an appointment when I am sick because there is help that will truly heal my body.  I learned the valuable lesson that I need to be careful not to let myself be talked into doing things that I do not truly believe are best for me.

Thank you all so much for all that you do to promote true healing and recovery.  Nutrition Response Testing continues to positively impact the quality of my life in so many ways!

-KW

 

August 2012-July 10, 2013-August 1, 2014

Dear Dr. Jenn,

I want to write this letter nice and long and with lots of detail so that you really know the difference your vocation as doctor and the way you have been serving me during the past several months has made in my life.  You and your work and dedication have been a wonderful blessing in my life and are bringing back the “me” I thought I was going to lose for good because of all of the health issues I was having.

What brought me to you?  What was life like before I began Nutrition Response Testing?  First and foremost, I felt that who I am as a person was changing in ways that I did not like and I was not just going to sit back and watch it happen.  In looking back over my life, I have to admit that I have always been someone more susceptible to the negative effects of stress and less able to handle it.  Outwardly, I can remain calm and think through things rationally, but the toll it takes on me physically in the end is what I am not able to “handle”.  I can think of quite a few specific examples throughout college and through my twenties and into my thirties, including two panic attacks and getting sick with pneumonia which illustrate what happens to me as a result of not recognizing stresses and being proactive in how I deal with them.  However, being younger, and otherwise healthy I used to bounce back and life moved forward.

As I got older and continued to live through the various joys, disappointments, and stresses of life, I did start to notice that the negative emotions and experiences affected me more and it was not so easy to bounce back.  Headaches, migraines, becoming more susceptible to catching whatever was going around are the ways I noticed myself being affected.  I think when I was younger, I could look at everything and see my whole life ahead of me with so much possibility.  As I get older and work through stresses and disappointments, there is not so much life ahead of me; certain possibilities are no longer as likely to happen for me.  At some point, everyone has to deal with this aspect of life.  Looking back, I don’t think I realized at the time how much this was affecting me.

On a physical level, I was diagnosed with Klippel-Feil Syndrome when I was in my early thirties.  While in many ways this explained much to me about myself (physical issues) and validated my innate sense that there was something “going on”, it also took some time for me to internalize and accept what this might mean for me, especially in the future.  Again, this is something many people face in their lives; a diagnosis that requires them to “redefine” themselves in some way/ways.  I know this greatly impacted my view of what my life could/would be like as I continued to age.

Until puberty, I had never had any struggles with weight.  Once puberty hit, and since, my weight has been a constant struggle.  Due to my physical limitations, I cannot ever seem to exercise enough to maintain the ideal weight for my height.  I have always kept trying—different dietary restrictions, different types of exercise/routines– and I will continue to keep trying, but I did have one stretch of time where I did just give up on it for about three or four years.  This, I believe, continues to negatively affect me.

At some point in my thirties, my health began to decline and I became aware that it this was happening.  I believe it began after two bad falls which took me off my feet, one because I broke my right foot, and therefore, I think, led to the pneumonia.   Then, around five or six years later, I had my “giving up” period of time.  I had become discouraged and felt that there were too many stresses in life.  I decided I was not going to make monitoring my food and exercise another stress—something I was vigilant about and constantly monitoring.  Of course, the results were disastrous.  It was not the right way to handle the stress.  I knew it even at the time, but I felt that I had to pick something to let go of, and I did not see any other stressor that I could control to that extent.  Also, it did take quite a while for the ill effects of my decision to impact me to the point where I could see what a bad choice it was.

During all of this time, I had been seeing various types of doctors:  general practitioners, specialists in bone health and neurology, an orthopedist, a chiropractor, a physical therapist, an osteopath.  I was trying everything and for the most part, everything did help for a time at least.  However, that time was short-lived enough that I could see that the approach was not going to be a long term solution.

I did not recognize that my emotional health had been impacted to the degree that it was until my mid-thirties.  I remember the moment well.  I was very upset about something and I knew I was going to just fall apart and cry and there was not anything I could do about it.  I knew that my reaction was way over the top, but that didn’t matter because I could not control it.  That was the moment I knew that something inside me was not working properly.  This was not the person I had been.  This was the first time I felt like who I had known myself to be as a person was changing into someone else.  I did not like the feeling.

Just like what happened when I tried to take care of my physical health and nothing worked, and I was basically told that my physical limitations would have to get significantly worse before anything different could be tried, when I sought help for my emotional issues, which I was quite convinced, and blood tests proved, were hormone related, I was told that I needed to work on stress management.  I explained to the doctor that I had tried every stress management technique that had ever worked for me and any other I could find, but they weren’t working.  The only answer given to me was that because there were no physical concerns other than some hormone issues that were considered “normal” for my age, the only thing the doctor could do was to have me take anti-depressants to help manage.  I knew that anti-depressants were not the answer, and continued to search on my own.

During all of the times of reflection and soul searching and internet researching, I began to have many realizations about where stress and emotion were coming from and recognizing what I needed to do in some situations.  However, the mood swings and emotional melt downs continued to happen.  Eventually, some new physical issues became manifest.  During the two or three years before I began Nutrition Response Testing I was sick a lot.  I missed more days teaching than I ever had before.  I missed at least one day of school each month during the year before I began Nutrition Response Testing.  Also, I began having pretty serious dizzy spells where I would have to sit down and put my head between my knees.  I had to be increasingly careful in standing up.  During the night or first thing in the morning, especially, when I first got out of bed I would need something to hold onto or lean against (the wall) to keep me steady.  During the year before I began Nutrition Response Testing, my brother-in-law was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer and while I was able to push myself physically to be there for him and his family during the time they needed me most (those first five months), it took me the next several months to recover from that.

I would wake up each morning and one of my first thoughts would be just to look forward to the moment I could come home again and be done with the day.  I was so tired all of the time.  I could get through the week, but would have to crash and rest all weekend in order to make it through the next week.

This new physical component, along with the emotional component, compelled me in my search.  Knowing that my brother-in-law was dying and that my sister and her children needed me made me determined to find an answer and a solution to what was going on inside me.  However, I could not find anything I hadn’t tried before.  I didn’t know what to do at that point.  Then, I heard that spring 2012 about Nutrition Response Testing and I knew it was right for me.  Unfortunately, I got held up in starting because I had another bad fall, which set off three, almost four weeks of cluster migraines.  But, I finally got started in August 2012.

 

There are many issues I have been living with since my teenage years: indoor and outdoor allergies, food allergies/sensitivities, carpal tunnel syndrome, migraines, knee injury issues, back issues, muscle issues, ear issues, eye issues, foot/ankle issues (from sprains and the break), and maybe some others that I am not troubled by often enough to remember.  Some of these are known to be symptomatic of Klippel-Feil, so I cannot say that they will ever be “cured”.  There are injury related issues which probably cannot be cured as well, because of the effects of the injury.  So, while managing my physical health is important and I certainly want to be as healthy as I can be, I think I have to accept that in many ways, these are issues I don’t have a great deal of control over.  My body is the way it is and there are many things about it that no one can change and that won’t be changed even by being a healthy weight.  So, I will take care of my physical health as best I can and be happy about that.

However, I can “take care” of my emotional health.  I can be the person I was before.  I hope you have started to see that person.  I have been known as a person with lots of energy.  When I was younger, this was often commented on.  While I still “burn out” faster than I’d like, my energy level is much better in general.  I have been known as a happy person with a positive attitude.  There have been many comments to me over the years about this as well, many of them from doctors who were impressed that with all of my issues I maintained such a positive outlook.  I have felt this person “coming back” as my body is healing itself.  I am so happy to feel this healing taking place.  I feel like myself more and more.  Ultimately, that is what I have wanted the most.  I did not like this crazy person who was trying to take over my body.  That is not who I am.  I am so glad to know that I don’t have to accept being that person.

 

Update as of August 1, 2014:

It is hard to believe that I started this letter a little more than one year ago.  Right after I started this letter, I began a Master’s in Education program which was an accelerated program designed to be completed in one year.  I just completed the program achieving high A’s in every class!  All of this while teaching full-time.  My plate was overflowing, but I did it!  This absolutely never could have happened without the wonderful work of Dr. Jenn as doctor of chiropractic and Nutrition Response Testing!

Another significant development as of a few months back:  I have been tested for thyroid issues previously, years ago at this point.  My test results were just above normal if read one way, just below normal if read the other way.  My doctor at the time chose not to put me on medication because I was so borderline.  While I did  not want medication anyway, no other help was suggested to me and so once again I was left to research things and do what I could on my own, which I did, but with limited success/impact to my overall health.  I have been concerned that thyroid issues have been part of my problem over these years.  I have to say that since I have been taking supplements for my thyroid I have felt the biggest positive difference in my emotional life and in my level of physical energy.  If I do forget even one of the doses on a given day, I can feel the difference the next day and when I think back, I’ll remember that I forgot to take some supplements.  I am also taking supplements to support my adrenals and I know they are contributing to this positive impact as well.

One of the things you (Dr. Jenn) shared with me early on in my program is the complementary of ongoing chiropractic care and the Nutrition Response Testing program.  I have definitely noticed, especially in the past six-eight months that this is true.  I have congenital neck issues, both spinal and muscular.  As I have taken supplements which are cleansing my body and helping it to function at maximum capacity, I have noticed that my adjustments, especially those to my neck, are much more effective and have longer lasting positive benefits.  You have even commented that I am not so “necky”!  I can feel the difference.  This is particular significant to me because in addition to migraines, I would often experience stiffness and soreness in my neck and sometimes tension headaches due to this.  It could be very uncomfortable and painful.

Over this past school year, with everything I had on my plate, because of my ongoing chiropractic care and Nutrition program, I was still feeling more energetic and I was less sick than I have been the past several years!

I want to finish these thoughts by repeating something I wrote earlier:  What I wanted more than anything when I began this journey about two years ago was to be myself again; to feel that person I’ve always known myself to be alive and present.  I wanted to be again that happy, energetic person that I had been for the first 30 years of my life.  While my Nutrition Response Testing journey is not over, and really never will be, I can say that over the course of this past school year I have definitely found the “me” I could sense slipping away years ago.  I am myself again!  That is the greatest gift I have ever been given.

I am committed to Nutrition Response Testing and to continuing this journey.  I cannot wait to see the improvements that will keep coming as new “layers” of healing happen.

Thank you so much, Dr. Jenn, and all of the staff at Lakeland for your dedication, patience, and encouraging support!

My sincerest and most heart-felt thanks.

-KW

What patients are saying…..

In the Spring of 2013, I had a lot of tightness in my chest with a lot of coughing.  I had pneumonia and was given a Z-pack.  When it didn’t resolve, I went back in and I was diagnosed with lung cancer in April 2013.  I had my left lung removed and received chemo.  Then the cancer came back in the right lung.  I was sick, I lost weight and I was despondent after the head of pulmanology at the VA gave me until June of 2014 to live.  I’d worked in factories, foundries and warehouses all my life, as well as being a 3 pack/day smoker until 1979 when I quit.

A neighbor recommended Nutrition Response Testing and I came to see Dr. Jenn in March of this year (2014) and began my nutrition program.  4 months later, and 2 months past my prognosis, I don’t feel like I’m even missing a lung, unless I’m highly exerting myself!  I even swim in my lake, up to 150 yards at a time.  My cough is looser and my breathing is improved some.  UPDATE, December 19, 2014: At first I thought this (Nutrition Response Testing) was different; some kind of hocus pocus, but I am doing things that dead people aren’t supposed to do!  Swimming lakes, rabbit hunting, etc.  I’m 74 years old and I’m in love again too!  I am now 6 months past my prognosis; I shouldn’t even be here! I just had a cat scan and I am cancer free!  They even kicked me off of hospice care.  I just got married in January (2015) and am so happy!

-ETJ

UPDATE PER DR. JENN:   and his lovely wife moved to Florida in the fall of 2017.  We miss them dearly but are excited for their new adventures!

 

 

Before coming in to see Dr. Doug my eyes were irritated, itchy and tired all the time. They were so bad it affected my vision. Also before being addressed by NRT I had difficulty sleeping soundly enough or long enough to feel well rested when morning came.

Now my eyes aren’t as red or itchy as they were initially. I feel like this is gradually continuing to improve. My vision has improved and I’m able to see fairly well with the use of two sets of prescription lenses. My sleep is also now sound and restful.

-SH

What patients are saying…..

What was it like before you came in to see us?

Bad! It was hard getting through a couple hours of a day, let alone the entire day. I felt extremely stressed, depressed and emotional. Anything set me off and I had a very hard time conducting myself in a normal manner at work. The thought of having to go to work and deal with my emotional self and other people made me more emotional, stressed and it was a vicious cycle I could not escape. I felt very down on myself and negative, which is the complete opposite of who I have been my whole life. This was severely affecting my person and professional life.

 

How is it now?

I feel a lot better. At my low there were days I could not stop crying for hours. Now, I don’t think I have cried in-I cannot even remember. I am able to handle stress much better and feel like I can think clearly. I have always been a creative person and during this hard time it almost felt like my brain was blank, just existing there. I am able to be much more efficient at my personal and professional life. I feel much less “crazy” and more myself and I know my friends and family can begin to see it as well. I also feel better all around; I sleep better, have more energy and also know I am making better choices which are becoming habits. (Although some of that may be attributed to Dr. Doug and Jenn B. seeing that I ate that candy bar and me feeling guilty J) Collectively I know the whole food supplements, better eating habits and support has helped improve my life TREMENDOUSLY.

-JF

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have been considering the Nutritional Response Program for a number of years. As I am in overall very good health and did not have significant health concerns to address, I did not feel urgency in starting the program, though I had set it as a goal.

After losing my brother to cancer in December, I decided it was time to make the commitment to the program in order to do everything in my power to live healthfully.

My major ailment was chronic sinus headaches. I woke daily to congestion headaches and had been taking OTC pseudoephedrine on a daily basis for YEARS. Each year I would discuss this with my PCP, who assured me there was no danger or detriment to my health. I knew in my heart and mind that this didn’t make sense. I wanted to stop treating the symptoms, and start alleviating the problem. I wasn’t sure that a nutritional response program would make a difference, but I felt it was worth trying.

After a few short weeks on a program with Dr. Doug, I was off pseudoephedrine completely. I do not wake up with headaches, as I have done for years! I am off the drugs because I do not need the pain or congestion relief. The changes in my diet were minimal and easy to adapt. Keeping the food log, keeps me accountable and thoughtful about what I put in my mouth. Overall the biggest change I have made is more protein and less carbohydrates.

My secondary complaint was adult acne. I have seen an improvement in this area. Not completely eliminated, but less serious and less frequent break outs. I also do not see the rising and falling of energy levels throughout the day and am not having the 4 o’clock slump of wanting a nap or a chocolate fix.

I am interested to see where this will take me. At some point, I would expect changes and a reduction in the supplements I am taking, understanding of course that our foods are not as nutritionally sound as we would hope.   -MBT

 

What was it like before you came in to see us?

There was a lot of hormone instability; not sleeping, hot flashes, joint pain.  I also had sinus/allergy issues constantly, as well as digestion issues.

How is it now?

My sinus and allergy issues are under control and not bothersome.  My thyroid and hormone challenges are stable with no issues.  My diet choices control the digestion issues.     -DW

 

“Before I came in to the clinic, my blood sugar testing was higher than normal. I felt tired all the time and I had a lot of arthritis (osteo) pain. Now, my A1C numbers and my fasting blood sugar are in a good range. My pain has decreased! I notice that my pain increases when I eat what is on my ‘do not eat’ list. I also notice a big difference in overall energy when I eat what is best for me!” -NR

 

“Before starting my nutritional program, I was tired all of the time. Despite getting 9 hours of sleep each night, fatigue kept me from enjoying my life. Now, I have way more energy! I also have more self control over my eating. I have gradually incorporated healthier food choices and exercise into my daily life because of this program.”

-AA

 

Before I came to see Dr. Jenn I was extremely fatigued and had very little energy. Several months into my program I am less tired and more “awake” during the day. My thought process is also clearer.

– KD

I noticed a few days ago the dark circles under my eyes- which I’ve had for years and always thought was ‘normal’ for me- have started to improve. Today is the first day in MONTHS that I woke not feeling complete and utter exhaustion and fatigue in every bone, every nook, every cranny of my body…and I’m only ~11 days into Nutrition Response Testing, can’t wait to feel even better!

-AN

 

The Nutrition Response Testing program that Dr. Jenn leads is fantastic. I will admit I was a little skeptical on the program when I first read the information given to me. I was having issues with recovery times working out and overall energy. There were also issues of dealing with stress. After being on the program for a number of months, I have found that my recovery times have vastly decreased and I am no longer drained at my workouts. I find my body recovered and ready to go. I also find my overall energy is up and I have an overall energetic, upbeat mood.

I would highly recommend the Nutrition Response Testing program to anyone and have mentioned it numerous time to friends in my CrossFit gym as some folks there have some of the same issues.

The program may not give you the immediate change that you seek and I would encourage people to stick it out and allow the change to occur. If you stick with the program and follow the recommendations upon every visit, you will definitely note the changes and begin to feel better

-MB

I was very interested in my heart health in addition to my overall health after having developed atrial fibrillation.  Even though a heart procedure fixed the atrial fibrillation, I still wanted my heart to stay healthy.
When I started my Nutrition Response Testing program in 2012, I was a

 

bit skeptical of seeing big results in my health, much less anything dealing with my heart.  As a post-menopausal woman, heart health is extremely important to me.
My cholesterol had always been higher than normal but my triglycerides were always low.  After menopause my triglycerides climbed up to over 325, well over the normal 150 range.  Exercise and eating a low-fat diet didn’t change my numbers a bit.
After four months on my Nutrition Response Testing program, I had a routine blood test done.  Much to my surprise, my triglyceride number had fallen from over 325 to 90!  90!
My family doctor was so surprised that she asked what I had done to get my numbers down that low.  I explained to her that I was following my Nutrition Response Testing program.  With the supplements and learning how to eat a truly healthy diet, not low-fat either, I had lost weight, had more energy, and had the awesome benefit of much lower triglyceride and cholesterol numbers.  Keeping my body and heart healthy with Nutrition Response Testing has been, and continues to be, important to me.  Thank you Dr. Jenn for helping me on this journey!
-CH

 

What was it like before you came in to see us?  “I had horrible digestive issues and my blood pressure was not where it was supposed to be!”

How is it now? “A vast difference in only one week! No more blood pressure issues and I am feeling less stressed as well as being more active – awareness and a PLAN help with this SO MUCH!”

-MJN

What was it like before you came in to see us? “Last Spring I had several severe asthma attacks where I could barely breathe. I had great difficulty with mobility, standing, and doing errands because of back pain.”

How is it now? “I came in during those asthma attacks, got adjusted, and began a nutritional program. Almost immediately I began to feel better and now for this past year, my asthma has been under control. My allergies are also not so bothersome now and my back pain has gone from having no comfortable position to being able to stand for five hours. I also have flexibility that I have not had for a long time. I love that when I come here I am able to solve whatever I have going on. I seem to be able to do much more now.”

– BP

After I reached age 55, my body began to show signs of aging. I had arthritis, degenerating disks in my lower back, and chronic pains and aches. I couldn’t sleep through the night because of home and work related stress. I became tired and fatigued everyday in the afternoon hours and would take long naps. I had had leg cramps from a staton that I was taking for high cholesterol. In the shower, I had trouble lifting legs enough to wash my feet. I could not reach my back due to pain in my shoulder. I developed a “stiff neck” pain which lasted for over a year. I could not turn my neck enough to see when driving the car which was a dangerous situation. I have a nice yard and I love gardening and landscaping but I could not use a rake or shovel or lift bags of dirt or mulch. If I did any of these things I would spend the next three days on the couch popping muscle relaxers and sleeping until I could get up and walk around again. I had gone to a doctor, an M.D., and have tried to get help there but nothing really helped me. Taking muscle relaxers in horrible and only masks pain and makes me incapacitated for 2-3 days. Arthritis meds may work, but only temporarily – unless you take it all the time. The side effects are bad as well. On top of this I was overweight at 170lbs. My diet was out of whack as well. I developed severe leg pain and could not walk without limping. I was afraid something was very wrong with my leg and that it may have to be amputated someday. My body was deteriorating and I was depressed about life in general and afraid for the future.

I had many relatives and friends who had sought the help of a chiropractor with success. I did not know what kind of help they might offer but decided it was time to visit one and find out. Lakeland Chiropractic is less than two miles from my house so I called and made an appointment. After two x-rays and a personal consultation with the doctor and staff at LC I began spinal adjustments on a weekly basis. The results were very positive and my overall health improved.

Now, after a year of spinal adjustments, I am amazed at how good I feel. My arthritis pain is way lower, my neck is back to normal, my energy levels are higher – no more afternoon naps – and I am less depressed. I am back to most gardening tasks – with caution. Overall, my health and I would recommend chiropractic therapy to anyone who is searching for answers to health and wellness issues. There are alternatives to managing your health besides the medical doctors we have grown up with. I’m glad I made the decision to move ahead with chiropractic therapy. I feel much better and I have a lot of hope for my future.”

-SH

 

What was is like before you came in to see us? “I was tired all the time, it seemed like I was always hungry, my eyes had trouble focusing sometimes, and I was stressed and anxious.

How is it now? “My energy throughout the day has improved, my appetite is regular, my eyes focus better, and my anxiety is much reduced.”

-SN

 

What was is like before you came to see us? “I was in pain for over two years but I was too afraid to see a chiropractor. My husband kept telling me I needed to go.”

 

What is it like now? “I wish I would have come two years ago! I never knew how bad I was; once I came and received adjustments, I now feel ten times better. I know if I can live without Lakeland Chiropractic in my life, they’re the best.”

-LM

 

When I first started I was sleepy all the time; I slept late, sate and watched TV, slept a lot, and was sluggish. I also sat and ate everything wrong, not the things Dr. Doug recommended at all. Every once in a while I did his suggestions and I felt good. But, with 75 years of bad habits, I always went back to my old ways. I was fooling myself for two years.

Now I am a new person. I am waking up at 6am to much energy. Mornings were always my early rising husbands quiet time, now he has an energetic wife talking. I have tried not to disturb him until 9am, my usual rising time. So far, two bedroom closets, 5 dressers, and 2 file cabinets in my bedroom have been cleaned in a month. I was a hoarder. The resale shop and trash have been busy with all the boxes and bas I have sent them. It looks like a new house! The basement is next – look out trash!

THE PROGRAM WORKS when you get serious and do it. I have lost 30lbs in 2 months doing my program and going to a support group.”

-NR

Simple Business by Nimbus Themes
Powered by WordPress